Databases and More
How to Search E-Resources
When logging onto a database outside the library, the computer will prompt you to enter your username and password.
Your username is your library barcode number found on the backside of your card, spaces omitted.
Your password is the last four digits of the phone number you gave to the library.
If you have questions, please contact the library's reference desk during regular business hours, 379-2979 or email, ill@cityofpt.us.
Click on the subject to see available databases
Articles in Newspapers, Magazines and Journals
- Contains unmatched full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics and more.
- Contains full-text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering business, health, education and more.
- More than 900 full-text newspapers, providing more than 36 million full-text articles.
- A vast index of magazines and newspaper articles. Many are full-text.
Automotive & Mechanical
- Repair information on most major manufactures of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes.
History
- Full-text for more than 150 leading history periodicals.
Books, Authors, and Literature
- Nancy Pearl is a librarian with a love of books so strong it has been officially classified as lust. No matter the mood, moment or reason, she can recommend the perfect literary companion.
- Reviews, annotations and much more for over 120,000 fiction titles.
- Contains enhanced subject access for over 60,000 fiction titles aimed at the K-8 population.
- Full-text database designed to provide users with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.
Business & Investing
Small Business Reference Center
- Exclusive full-text for many of the top consumer small business reference books.
Career & College Planning
Login Information:
- SiteID: LWA21158
- Login: Patron
- Free Application for Federal Student Aid
- GEDpractice is a free service provided by Steck-Vaughn to familiarize you with the types of items you will see on the actual GED test.
Computer
- Connect to the Digital World with free learning tools to help make technology work for you.
- EveryoneOn is powered by Connect2Compete. Connect2Compete aims to eliminate the digital divide by providing high speed, low-cost Internet and computers, and free digital literacy training to all Americans. Learn more at EveryoneOn: everyoneon.org.
WA State Library - Digital Resources for the Public
- Contains nearly 300 full-text journals and magazines covering topics such as computer science, programming and software.
Consumer Information
- Consumer Reports online database.
Cultures & Geography
- World, country, and state political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.
- Information on the countries of the world with information on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. Reports cover 157 countries and all 50 states.
- A world-wide resource of facts for travelers and students: including climate and culture, business, demographics, security, maps, money and banking, health and medical, communications, transportation and all travel essentials.
- Mango Languages is an online language-learning system teaching actual conversation skills for a wide variety of languages.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia Britannica *Use this link when in the library.
Encyclopedia Britannica Remote *Use this link from home or outside of the library.
Genealogy
- Includes family histories, genealogical serials, local histories and primary sources in full-image.
- Links to genealogy sites on the internet.
Family Source Internet Genealogy Search
- From the Church Of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The local Family History Library is located at 10104 Rhody Drive in Chimacum and is open Tues-Thurs 9 a.m.-9 p.m. Phone: 360-385-2604.
- Online searchable death indexes and records by state. Jefferson County obituaries, indexed by the Jefferson County Genealogical Society.
- Free family history, family tree, and genealogy records and resources from around the world.
Grant Writing and Research
Foundation Directory Online Professional
- In-library use only.
Foundation Grants to Individuals Online
- In-library use only.
- In/Sight combines the Foundation Center’s rich data on grantmakers and their grants with familiar Google maps to tell the story of philanthropy.
Grant Center - In-library use only
Username: cwils2htdw
Password:
6*gee32!rn
Health & Wellness
- Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness.
- A consumer health database with links to full-text pamphlets, directories, and articles.
- The index and abstracts of the world's medical literature, some with full-text links.
Jefferson County - National Alliance on Metal Illness (NAMI) - Resource Guide
Kids & Teens
Encyclopedia Britannica for Kids
- A world-wide resource of facts for travelers and students: including climate and culture, business, demographics, security, maps, money and banking, health and medical, communications, transportation and all travel essentials.
- Contains enhanced subject access for over 60,000 fiction titles aimed at the K-8 population.
- Full-text database designed to provide users with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.
Language Lessons
- An online language-learning system teaching actual conversation skills for a wide variety of languages.
Law & Legal
Legal Information Reference Center
- Provides full-text for many of the top consumer legal reference books.
Jefferson County Law Library
- Located in the Superior Courtroom. A collection of law related publications and references available to the general public. Call ahead, 385-9125, to be sure court is not in session.
Military & Intelligence
Military & Government Collection
- Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Philosophy & Religion
Religion and Philosophy Collection
- An essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
Research (General)
- Contains unmatched full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics and more.
Science and Technology
- Full-text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources.



