Databases
New York Times - Full access to the New York Times. Log in with your library card and PIN #.
Steps:
- Log in with your username/library barcode and PIN/password
- Click "New York Times- Access From Home"
- Click on "Redeem"
- Create an account with your email and password
- Go to your email account to receive verification and link to begin using the resource
NewsBank - Find global information on topics related to business, economics, education, government, health, homework help, international studies, politics, science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content.
Academic Search Premier - Contains unmatched full-text coverage in biology, chemistry, engineering, physics and more.
Britannica Library Reference Center
Gale Academic OneFile Millions of articles from scholarly journals. Podcasts, transcripts, videos, and much more.
Gale General OneFile Millions of articles from scholarly journals. Podcasts, transcripts, videos, and much more.
MasterFILE Premier - Contains full-text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering business, health, education and more.
Port Townsend Leader Archive - Selected bibliography (Hosted by the University of Washington Libraries Digital Collections). Currently issues from 1903-1921 are included in the digital collection.
Newspaper Source - More than 900 full-text newspapers, providing more than 36 million full-text articles.
The Seattle Times Collection - Search more than 30 years of Seattle area history with The Seattle Times Integrated Collection. With coverage from 1985 – current, the Collection contains full-color newspaper pages, individual full-text articles and content only published online.
Washington State News - Explore and research people, events and issues across Washington State. This resource contains news sources from across the State including: The Bellingham Herald, Chinook Observer, Chronicle, Columbian, Daily Herald, Daily News, Daily Record, Daily World, Kitsap Sun, News Tribune, The Olympian, Seattle Times, Spokesman-Review, Tri-City Herald, Yakima Herald-Republic and more.
Automotive, Science and Technology
Chilton Library - Do-it-yourself mechanics have access to photographs, diagnostics and step-by-step repair procedures, maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, recalls and technical service bulletins for automobiles and light trucks.
* C.L.E.O members are able to access Chilton Library through the Jefferson County Library as your organization when you sign in.
Science Reference Center Full-text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources.
Computer Source - Contains nearly 300 full-text journals and magazines covering topics such as computer science, programming and software.
Gale eBooks Explore this database of books, materials and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform.
Gale Literature Litfinder - Access literary works and authors throughout history, including full-text poems, plays, short stories, speeches, and more.
History Reference Center - Full-text for more than 150 leading history periodicals.
NoveList Plus - Reviews, annotations and much more for over 120,000 fiction titles.
NoveList K-8 - Contains enhanced subject access for over 60,000 fiction titles aimed at the K-8 population.
Reference Solutions - Reference Solutions is a powerful online reference and research tool providing library cardholders instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on U.S. businesses (59 million) and U.S. residents (310 million).
Small Business Reference Center - Exclusive full-text for many of the top consumer small business reference books.
Consumer Information & Health & Wellness
Consumer Reports - Consumer Reports online database.
Consumer Health Complete - Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness.
Gale Health and Wellness - Access full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. This comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices for researchers of all levels.
ProQuest - Family Health Database This database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
For access in the library (no login required)
For access outside the library
Northstar Digital Literacy - Free digital literacy assessments and self-guided lessons in Essential Computer Skills, Essential Software Skills, and Using Technology in Daily Life. Online learning courses require registration. Contact Jamie Pena, jpena@jclibrary.info, 360-385-6544 for assistance.
Microsoft Imagine Academy - The Washington State Library Microsoft Imagine Academy provides free, online, self-paced technology courses for all Washington residents. Courses are available at three levels - basic digital literacy skills, Microsoft Office Skills and advanced skills for Microsoft professional certification.
GCFLearnFree – Free online learning from the Goodwill Foundation. Short, informative materials and videos can be found on their website, and videos on their YouTube channel.
Technical Support
TechConnect Washington - Provides free technical support to Washington residents. They are available to provide guidance via chat, email, or phone in multiple languages. 1-800-216-1132, 8 am – 8 pm.
Broadband Services
Affordable Connectivity Program – FCC subsidy program to help provide low-cost Internet services.
HeritageQuest - Online Includes family histories, genealogical serials, local histories and primary sources in full-image.
Brainfuse - Access on-demand, anywhere online learning with one of the most experienced tutoring companies in the nation.
Britannica Library Young Adults
NoveList K-8 - Contains enhanced subject access for over 60,000 fiction titles aimed at the K-8 population.
Gale in Context Elementary - Introduce elementary students to database searching with resources featuring age-appropriate, curriculum-related content.
Gale in Context Middle School - Explore the most-studied topics including cultures, government, people, history, literature, and more.
Gale in Context High School - Explore thousands of topics across subjects including literature, science, history, and social issues using different sources.
Gale in Context College - Gale In Context: College is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale’s authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Gale In Context: Global Issues - Analyze important global issues and events through topic overviews, international viewpoints, news, and multimedia content. Library Card Required.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints - Find credible sources on hundreds of social and political issues. This database simplifies your search by bringing together articles, videos, and stats you can trust and cite. Library Card Required.
Points of View - Full-text database designed to provide users with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue.
Creativebug has thousands of award-winning art & craft video classes taught by recognized design experts and artists.
LinkedIn Learning - Choose from thousands of online courses to learn in-demand skills from real-world industry experts. Get started with your library card.
Gale in Context College - Gale In Context: College is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale’s authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Washington Career Bridge - Washington's one-stop source for career and education planning.
WorkSource Washington - WorkSource is a statewide partnership of state, local and nonprofit agencies that provides an array of employment and training services to job seekers and employers in Washington.
Legal Information Reference Center Provides full-text for many of the top consumer legal reference books.
Military & Government Collection - Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Religion and Philosophy Collection - An essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
Mango Languages - Want to improve your conversation skills in another language? This interactive tool offers more than 70 languages, including English, for children and adults.
* C.L.E.O members are able to access Mango Languages through the Jefferson County Library as your organization when you sign in.
ShipIndex - ShipIndex is a site created to make researching a vessel easier and more effective than it has ever been. We find valuable resources that serve as quality reference material for ships and put every mention of a vessel in that resource into our database.
Search hundreds of resources at once
Nearly 3-1/2 million ship citations indexed
Washington Anytime Library Magazines - A huge collection of popular and obscure magazines from Overdrive and the Washington Anytime Library.
Hoopla - Stream movies, television, and more free with your library card. Enjoy them on your T.V., computer, tablet or phone. Library Card Required
If you have questions, please contact the library's reference desk during regular business hours, (360) 385-3181 or email, ptlibrary@cityofpt.us.
